‘Big Wednesday’: Kojo Bonsu to become 11th aspirant in 2020 NDC race

Source: Ghana | Myjoyonline.com | Jerry Tsatro Mordy | Email: [email protected] | Twitter:@jerrymordy

Businessman and former Kumasi Metropolitan Chief Executive, Kojo Bonsu will later Monday, make known to the leadership of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), his intention to contest December’s presidential primaries.

Kojo Bonsu becomes the 11th aspirant in the NDC flagbearership race which also includes former President John Dramani Mahama.

Until news broke about his intention to lead the NDC, Kojo Bonsu was a considered staunch supporter of the Mahama 2020 bid.

He was instrumental in the organisation of the party’s Unity Walk project across the 10 regions of the country which has been credited for renergising the grassroot base of the opposition party.

On Friday, September 28, Mr. Bonsu met with Founder of the NDC and former President, Jerry John Rawlings, where he announced his decision to join the race to lead the party.

Kojo Bonsu and Rawlings


Myjoyonline.com has learnt the former Managing Director of Ghana Oil Company Limited (GOIL) will present his letter of intent to the party leaders at the party headquarters today.

He will then officially announce his bid to the media on Wednesday afternoon at the Ghana Academy of Arts And Science in Accra.

The NDC plans to go to congress to elect its national officers in November after which it will follow with the election of a candidate to lead it into the 2020 general elections in December.

Now ten men are jostling for the slot and are expected to pick nomination papers when the party opens nominations later this year.

The men are: Nadowli-Kaleo, Member of Parliament; Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, former university professor; Joshua Alabi, former Trade Minister; Ekwow Spio-Garbrah (remember him 2006?); former CEO of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA); Sylvester Mensah; former President John Mahama, former Deputy Finance Minister and MP for Cape Coast South, Kweku Ricketts Hagan, returnee Goosie Tanoh, businessman, Nurudeen Iddrisu, Legal practitioner, Elikplim Agbemava and self-styled electrician, Stephen Atubiga. There are two political neophytes also joining the race – Nurudeen Iddrisu and Elikplim Lorlormavor Agbemava. This is a list six men longer than the 2006 number.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here